Analysis of processes of repeated loss experience

Polina Šedienė, Gražina Banienė


This article analyzes experiences of the people who survived the repeated loss. The data from the interview survey carried out in Mažeikiai, in 2004 was analyzed using the Kubler–Ross (2000) structure of grief stages: shock, denial, anger, bargaining, and reconciliation.
According to Symos (1987), losses can be grouped into these categories: loss of a close person, partial loss of one’s personality, loss of material recourses, loss of job, loss during developmental process, divorce, birth of disable child (the loss is experienced by the parents of the disabled child), death of a young family member or a suicide.
The recurrence of loss during one’s life provokes strong negative feelings: guilt, hopelessness, depreciation, shame, loneliness, needlessness, fear, sorrow, threat, pain, gloom. Those feelings burden the process of grief/mourning.
The stage of loss reconciliation is not always reached, however loss can be survived only by giving them meaning and sense.


loss; repeated loss; grief/mourning process; giving meaning to a loss

Full Text:

PDF (Lietuvių)


  • There are currently no refbacks.

"Social Work" ISSN online 2029-2775 / ISSN print 1648-4789